Helderberg College Council

The Helderberg College Council (hereinafter called the Council) is appointed quinquennially by the business session of the SAU in accordance with its constitution, and shall have full administrative authority.


The Council shall consist of no fewer than 15 (fifteen) and not more than 26 (twenty‑six) members made up as follows:

  1. SAU President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Education Director;
  2. all Conference/Field Presidents;
  3. five (5) persons not employed by the SAU or any of its subsidiary organizations from the territory of the SAU upon recommendation of the Senate;
  4. education Director of the SID, SAU Youth Director and Ministerial Director
  5. President, Vice-President: Academic Administration, Director of Financial Administration, Director of Student Services
  6. staff representative as recommended by the Senate;
  7. student representative (SRC President), as recommended by the Senate.


The President of the Alumni Association of the College shall be an invitee to the Council as non-voting member.


The officers of the Council shall be the chair, being the SAU President; the vice-chair, being the SAU executive secretary; the secretary, being the College President.


The chair plus fifty percent (50%) of the remaining members of the Council shall constitute a quorum.


Meetings of the Council shall be held twice a year at such a time and place as may be decided by the chair or vice-chair of the Council. At least one meeting of the Council must be held on the College campus each year. Special meetings may be called as deemed necessary.


Vacancies in the membership of the Council during the interim period shall be filled by the SAU executive committee upon the recommendation of the Council.

Administrative Authority

The Council shall have full administrative authority:

  1. to approve and implement the working policies of the College.
  2. to approve the curricula of the College.
  3. to recommend to the SAU executive committee the names of the officers after consultation with the Senate under the chairmanship of the chair of the Council.
  4. to confirm the appointment or dismissal with cause of permanent College personnel.
  5. to approve the annual budget and to receive regular reports on the financial position of the College.
  6. to appoint a finance and remuneration committee of five (5) to seven (7) members with the SAU treasurer or his designee serving as chair.
  7. to determine the tuition and boarding fees and any other charges.
  8. to authorise the signatories of bank accounts, and authorise overdraft, loan and other bank facilities.
  9. to accept responsibility for the legal aspects of the operation of the College and to conduct its business in accordance with the policies of the SAU and the legal requirements of the Republic of South Africa.
  10. to receive gifts and assets on behalf of the College.
  11. to ensure that the financial records of the College are audited annually according to SAU policy.
  12. to make recommendations to SEDCOM regarding business transactions such as purchase or sale of land.
  13. to approve major business transactions relating to construction of new buildings, major alterations and the purchase of costly equipment.
  14. to appoint the Senate and the Administrative Committee of the College on an annual basis.